The LSU AgCenter sweet potato field day will be held Aug. 7 at the Sweet Potato Research Station in Chase, beginning with registration at 7:45 a.m.

The program will begin at 8:15 a.m. and feature reports from LSU AgCenter scientists on their current research, which will include:

• Potential for using unmanned aerial vehicles (drones) in agriculture.

• Weed management.

• Equipment demonstration of a modified bulk harvester and vine snapper.

• Insect research.

• Improving foundation seed production.

• Vegetable disease research.

• Optimizing root development and yield potential.

• Nematode management.

• Sweet potato breeding program.

• Industry updates.

 • Optimizing production practices for fresh market and processing venues.

 Contact Tara Smith, research coordinator, at 435-2155 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. for information concerning the field day,

 The Sweet Potato Research Station is located on La. Highway 15 in Chase.

Jerry Lynn Graham

Chief of Police


 I, Jerry Lynn Graham, formally announce my candidacy for the office of Chief of Police for the Town of Mangham in the election slated for November 4, 2014. 

My family and I have lived in Mangham for most of our lives and personally know just about everyone in town. 

I have honorably served in law enforcement for 23 years. I am a graduate of Mangham High School and a graduate of the North Delta Police Academy in Monroe, La. I have attended several in service classes involving various training methods related to law enforcement. 

For years, I have been actively involved supporting our youth, whether it be supporting all aspects of our Mangham schools or as a coach, umpire, and past president of our girls Dixie Softball program from 2005-2011. 

If elected as Chief of Police, our department will be very active in our schools and our summer programs for our children. Our children are the future for our town, state, and country! We will strive to help them in any way possible! 

Also, we have several elderly people in our community that either live alone or that are confined to their homes. We will implement a plan that these people will be checked on by the police department on a regular basis. We want them to know that we care and will always be just a short distance away and will never forget about them! 

As Chief of Police, I will work closely with our local governing authority in hopes of securing more opportunities for the police department to grow and to get up to speed in today’s society. Our department will enforce the laws of this country, state, parish, and town. 

Yet, everyone will be treated with courtesy and professionalism! Everyone will be treated in a fair, impartial manner and the way they expect and deserve to be treated? 

The decision I have made to run was not taken lightly. It is was the encouragement from my family and supporters and believing in what I’m doing that I can make this announcement. 

I look forward to seeing as many people as possible before the election and hearing your concerns. I ask for your prayers and I appreciate your friendships through all the year! On November 4, 2014 I need your help and I humbly ask for your vote. 

Thank you, 

Jerry Lynn Graham

Candidate for Police Chief

Town of Mangham

The Rayville Police Department made the following arrests for the week of July 14-20.

• Thaddeus Autman, 30; 214 Cotton St., Rayville; simple battery.

• Nathaniel Griffin, 21; 109 Waldorf St., Rayville; disturbing the peace by profanity.

• Eric Kurnik, 33, disturbing the peace (general).

• Rebecca Fuller, 33; 279 Ollie Morris Road, Rayville; two brake lights required, no driver’s license, no proof of insurance and open container.

• Purvis Means, 50; 122 B South Circle Drive, Rayville; simple criminal trespass and simple criminal trespass.

• Antonio Mock, 49; 708 Martin Luther King Drive, Rayville; disturbing the peace by fighting.

• Porchuella Dorsey, 26; 316 B Massey K Drive, Rayville;disturbing the peace (general).

• Joseph Sanders, 27; 2732 Murray St., Rayville; disturbing the peace (general).

• Charnecia Davenport, 22; 208 A Coenan Drive, Rayville; disturbing the peace (general).

• Roquesha Mackey, 19; 417 A McConnell Drive, Rayville; simple battery.

• Justin Dickson, 31; 511 Chicago St., Rayville; open container.

• Four juveniles were arrested this week. Three were charged with theft and one with disturbing the peace by loud music.

•  •  •

The Rayville Police Department issued a total of 33 traffic citations this week. That number includes 27 for speeding, three for careless operation with an accident, two for no seatbelt and one for no driver’s license in possession.

•  •  •

Rayville Police Chief Willie Robinson advised that during the summer months when a lot of people are having social gatherings, it’s very important to be mindful and respectful of the rights of the community as a whole.  

“Please remember to keep your music in your homes and vehicles at a decent level,” the chief said. “Also be mindful of blocking property access or roadway traffic when parking.”

Chief advised that there is a noise ordinance within city limits, which means that having your music too loud inside your home or vehicle could result in being arrested and charged for disturbing the peace.

Chief Robinson also stated that during these hot summer months, tempers flare and people are more prone to be involved in physical altercations.

“There is never any reason for one person to strike another,” the chief said. “Crimes of violence, including but not limited to fighting, will not be tolerated.  Anyone involved in this type of behavior will be arrested and charged accordingly.”

Chief Robinson encourages all citizens to come by the Rayville Police Department at 900 Harrison St. or to call 728-4431 if you need his help in any way.